Advice For New Runners

Options

Replies

• melizerd
    melizerd Posts: 870 Member
    Options
    5) Breathe. Breathing and posture can really make the difference between an awesome running experience and a horrible one.

I have a really hard time breathing properlly I really have to concentrate on breathing through my nose and out my mouth. Also I find that I hunch over when I am tired...how do you stop this?

Who told you to breath in through your nose?? That is crazy! Just open your mouth, you need too much air for those tiny nose-holes.

Actually breathing in through the nose and out through the mouth is best, because then you take longer deeper breathes and not short shallow ones.

To stop the hunch when I'm tired I THINK about my posture and focus on keeping it correct. I run a mental check list from my head to my feet to decide if I really need to walk or not.
    (and I'm a nursing student)
  • maryd523
    maryd523 Posts: 661 Member
    Options
    Another thing I've noticed lately is runners whose arms are hanging low and their hands are flopping down. Not only does it look silly, but you don't get as good of a workout as when you keep your arms bent at a 90 degree angle and pumping. Try to pump them straight, not sideways across your chest.

Also, keep your back pretty straight.
  • Sadie98072
    Sadie98072 Posts: 212 Member
    Options
    1. Shoes - you need the best pair that you can afford. Dont stinge on these. Get fitted properly by someone who actually runs.
    2. There is no such thing as running too slowly. As long as you are making the jogging movements, your body and brain will think that you are really running and this is what will increase your endurance. It sounds silly, but it really does work. Instead of walking when you need a break just jog as slowly as you can (around your walking pace).
    3. Hydrate