Housemate keeps fridge full of junk food

Options
13»

Replies

• tulips_and_tea
    tulips_and_tea Posts: 5,717 Member
    Options
    The shared food budget is because I have an irregular income. I'm a freelance carpenter and writer. They have a steady Walmart job. I usually pay a bit more than them, but when sales are slow for me, they pick up the slack. Makes sure neither of us goes without.
    They usually have four to eight days of food in there, and yeah. Freezer too.
    The issue with me moving is my carpentry equipment, which is hard to move, delicate, and hard to find a tolerant housemate. The issue with them moving is they don't want to.
    I'm beginning to realize perhaps I should just get my own fridge...

Good idea! Buy it from Wal-Mart (or have your roommate buy it and pay them back) and use their employee discount.

Also, I could be wrong but the only other thing I picked up in your response above is, do you take more room in the rest of the home with all your equipment? Maybe your roommate is staking their claim in the kitchen and fridge to even it out. If so, maybe you can find a compromise without buying a separate fridge.
  • kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,996 Member
    Options
    The shared food budget is because I have an irregular income. I'm a freelance carpenter and writer. They have a steady Walmart job. I usually pay a bit more than them, but when sales are slow for me, they pick up the slack. Makes sure neither of us goes without.
    They usually have four to eight days of food in there, and yeah. Freezer too.
    The issue with me moving is my carpentry equipment, which is hard to move, delicate, and hard to find a tolerant housemate. The issue with them moving is they don't want to.
    I'm beginning to realize perhaps I should just get my own fridge...

Wanted to make sure you knew about these places for writing gigs:
    https://www.textbroker.com/
    https://www.upwork.com/