Question about activity level

Options
In furtherance to my earlier thread I now have a question about activity level.

Currently I have this set to active. I work as an Account Manager (desk job 9-5;30 mon-fri), but I walk to/from work (30 mins each way so 1hr). Besides that’s there’s normal household chores etc, and in addition to that the daily 2 hour cardio that I do at the gym.

Would you say that falls under the Active bracket?

Replies

• TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    your activity level in MFP doesn't include purposeful exercise.
  • try2again
    try2again Posts: 3,562 Member
    Options
    Your activity level is intended to be your average day-to-day stuff. Purposeful exercise is intended to be logged separately and the calories eaten back.
  • MileHigh4Wheeler
    MileHigh4Wheeler Posts: 67 Member
    edited January 2019
    Options
  • try2again
    Options
    Wait... what? 2 hours of cardio daily? Are you training for an event?
  • try2again
    Options
    Sounds like you should choose the sedentary category rather than active. That computation is trying to determine your BMR, the baseline to recommend how many calories your body needs if you just laid still for 24 hours, if you say you have an active job and it changes that BMR then you might end up consuming more calories than you should as a result.

Sedentary is not the same as BMR. It includes up to 5000 steps a day.
  • Tacklewasher
    Tacklewasher Posts: 7,122 Member
    Options
    Sounds like you should choose the sedentary category rather than active. That computation is trying to determine your BMR, the baseline to recommend how many calories your body needs if you just laid still for 24 hours, if you say you have an active job and it changes that BMR then you might end up consuming more calories than you should as a result.

Disagree. The calculation is trying to determine NEAT, not BMR.