Eggs

Options
2»

Replies

• marcusjgrose
    marcusjgrose Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    I've been eating 13 a day for a couple of years,I'm still alive.
  • PAV8888
    PAV8888 Posts: 13,866 Member
    edited March 2019
    Options
    I've been eating 13 a day for a couple of years,I'm still alive.

I like eggs.
    I enjoy a fairly high TDEE compared to many people on this site.
    I don't like eggs enough to devote more than 1000 Calories a day to them.

So good luck with that :smiley:

As to the level of cholesterol which is significant for each of as as individuals, I found a discussion with a cardiac surgeon who had just performed a double by-pass on a relative who had NORMAL levels of blood cholesterol to be somewhat interesting: "it is not whether the level of cholesterol was too high in terms of population averages that matters, it is that for this individual that particular level of cholesterol was too high for her and enough to lead to blockages"

A second interesting point, which I already mentioned up-thread, is that even in the abstract the study in question mentions that once total cholesterol has been taken into account there was no finding of statistical significance when it came to whether the people had eaten more eggs. In other words, in my mind, their statistical finding was in terms of total dietary cholesterol.
  • mdreddie
    mdreddie Posts: 73 Member
    Options
    Those studies are impressing on people moreover the importance of monitoring their cholesterol levels. As such, balance is key. For instance, this past week, I had 8 whole eggs scrambled for dinner. But I don't eat eggs every day of the week--maybe once, twice or none at all per week.
    This is why some people vary their diet with different sources of protein, fats, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals weekly so that they don't encounter problems of eating too much of any single type of food on a daily basis, which my land them in the trouble with their health.