Ladies: weight gain - ovulation vs. TOTM

Options
Hi ladies-
It seems like everything I read talks about weight gain associated with a few days to a week leading up to starting our periods. But for me the time I tend to gain weight is one to two weeks before I ovulate. Then once I ovulate my weight comes down to lower than I started with (this is where I would say most of my weight loss happens), and then levels out from my period until I start gaining again.
I do have a Mirena IUD, and it’s possible that this is contributing to my non-normal hormonal weight gain, but I’ve been tracking now for about four months, weighing almost everything, losing weight overall (I’ve lost 16 lbs since May), and the weight gain before ovulation seems to be the trend.
I’m not *complaining*, just curious if other women experience the same timing of weight gain.

Replies

• kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,897 Member
    Options
    I recently started weighing daily again and am up 4 pounds at ovulation this month >.<

It used to be more like 2 pounds.
  • Jdismybug1
    Jdismybug1 Posts: 443 Member
    Options
    I gain because of water during my actual period.
  • pinuplove
    pinuplove Posts: 12,874 Member
    edited August 2019
    Options
    My gains around ovulation are at least as much as my pre-menstrual gains. This came as something of a surprise to me when I started weighing daily. Now I find it interesting but am not bothered by it because I know the routine. If anything, it's a reminder my body is still working right on schedule.

ETA no IUD or hormonal birth control in the picture for me.
  • brittlb07
    brittlb07 Posts: 313 Member
    Options
    If you have an IUD you shouldn’t be ovulating right? I asked my doctor this because I was thinking the same thing about my pill but she said I wasn’t ovulating 🤷‍♀️ but hormones are crazy so I’m sure there is still a connection!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • 777Gemma888
    777Gemma888 Posts: 9,578 Member
    Options