Fresh start 2020

Options
Hi everyone (happy new year/decade),

I'm not new to the app, but I've never used the forum before. So, hello.😊

A little about me: I'm unfortunately the type who makes a great start at something new, commits and sticks to it. However, somewhere along the way, I fall off the wagon. Instead of getting up and trying again, I give up. I lose the reason for doing it the first time I fail and I can't seem to recover the reason why I attempted in the first place, as I feel like all I'll do is fail.
This has affected me in multiple aspects of my life besides my weight.

I have 10 stone (140 lb) to lose before I can get down to a healthy weight. But I'm honestly terrified. I've never been at a healthy weight in all my teenage/adult years and I have no idea if it's honestly possible for me. In fact, I can't imagine it. Hence why I give up - yet I want/need it so badly. I want a fresh start and to take control of my life.

Although I've used the app in the past, you can probably guess that I've stopped several times to having given up on a goal. But with this new year, I want a new me that lasts longer than January or February.

How do I begin my journey and sustain it?
What helps you get back up and continue when you've fallen off you journey?

Replies

• JoDavo66
    JoDavo66 Posts: 526 Member
    Options
    I'm similar.
    Now finding hard to even maintain let alone loose as I've older- my metabolism is slowing!!

I made some changes at the start of last month which were great- a GP recommendation but totally tripped up after Christmas. Pressed reset this morning.

I've given myself some major goals and then for January looked at some small changes towards them. I haven't quite got today right with my macros goal but there's another 30 days to try & make that routine along with more water & more sleep!! I'll re-evaluate at end of month. Little steps towards a big goal.
    Hope this works for you. That's what I'm trying.
  • ytolleson