How do you choose a goal weight?

Options
13»

Replies

• kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,898 Member
    Options
    My goal weight is the weight I was when I was a full time yoga teacher with an active lifestyle, but this is the most relevant answer:
    AnnPT77 wrote: »
    On a skim-through I didn't see it mentioned (apologies if I missed it!), so I want to add this, although you may already be aware of it:

Whatever you tell MFP your goal weight is, that has zip-zero-no effect on how it calculates your weight loss calorie goal. None.

MFP asks you to put a goal weight in your profile, but it only uses that for some motivational type messages, like the "ticker" you can put on your page that says you've lost X out of Y pounds, or you have Z pounds to goal, or whatever.

You can set your goal weight at anything less than your current weight, set up the other profile data according to instructions, and your calorie goal will be the same regardless. It's not worth agonizing over. You can change it later, no penalty or even difference.

Not worth worrying over, truly. Set it to whatever seems adequate now, and re-evaluate as you get closer, when you have more information/experience/insight.

• seltzermint555
    seltzermint555 Posts: 10,742 Member
    Options
    I definitely do better with the smaller goals. Losing 50 lbs feels like a lot, losing 10 isn't a big deal. So, I break it down.

For example, I'm 5'7" and was at 189. My first goal was just to get to my driver's license weight of 175, right now I'm about 1.5 lbs away from that (I've hit that weight on the scales a couple times, but not consistently enough to call it "my weight"). After that, the goal will be to fit into the pants I wore at my lowest adult weight (though reaching it in a healthy way this time, the first time was due to depression), which should be somewhere around ~160-165.