Keto ?

Options
Tips about the keto diet ? I been doing it for almost a month , but I think the fact that I run is why I'm losing weight , the keto diet just makes me feel almost overwhelmed with he amount of fat(s) you have to consume. I don't I'm not that experienced with the keto diet .

Replies

• baconslave
    baconslave Posts: 6,954 Member
    Options
    There are a couple groups here you might join for tips.
    https://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/group/1143-keto -Just keto
    https://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/group/394-low-carber-daily-forum -All low-carb but large pop. of keto folk

Whether or not you are interested in a group, you should read the Reddit Keto FAQ (it's fantastic.)
    https://www.reddit.com/r/keto/wiki/faq

To answer your question in the OP, the FAQ aptly reports:
    Do I need to hit my fat macro?
    If you are doing keto for weight loss, no. A common misconception about the keto diet is that one must consume a lot of fat. The keto diet is a high fat diet, but if you are doing keto for weight loss a portion of that fat is going to come from your body. You may commonly see it said on this subreddit that fat is a lever/meant to keep keep you full. Your body can't get all of its energy from stored body fat though, so be sure to consume at least 30g-50g of fat per day.

If you are doing keto and struggling to lose weight, fat is the first thing that should be cut. This article is a good place to start for ways/reasons to reduce your fat intake.

A macros tl;dr:
    Carbs are a limit. They are the only macro that meaningfully impact ketosis. There is no minimum carb intake.

Protein is a goal. Protein is vital. Unlike carbs and fat your body cannot store protein. This is why you need to prioritize hitting your protein macro every day.