HELP!! Under protein and carbs but above fats

2»

Replies

• kika5105 wrote: »
    @Squatcleananddeadlift ok thanks I will try that.

I'm sure you are doing great 👌
  • kika5105
    kika5105 Posts: 28 Member
    @dragon_girl26 oh yes! Im definitely not trying to perfectly balance them but trying to be closer to my grams for protein and carbs for the day as I am off by like 70g of protein (im not too worried about carbs) I'm new to the whole macro thing so I was looking for advice on how get to my goal. I totally forgot about tofu, will have to make some. Thanks!
  • kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,883 Member
    Nony_Mouse wrote: »
    Okay, you have your protein goal set at 180 grams, which is completely unnecessary. 1g per lb of lean body mass (or 0.6-0.8g per lb of ideal/goal weight) is a general rule of thumb for setting protein minimum. So if you're 70g under on what you currently have it set as, you're actually fine. Conversely, your fat, at 45g, while fine is at the lower end. You could increase that if you wanted - 0.25-0.45g per lb of ideal weight is a good guideline for this. Them just let carbs fall where they may according to preference - ie if you find more fat and/or protein keeps you more satiated, it's fine to eat more of those and fewer carbs.

At the end of the day, calories are what dictate weight loss/gain. Macros are more about personal preference (what keeps you satisfied, and therefore sticking to your calorie goal) and fitness goals, eg fuelling cardio, strength training, etc.

Looking at this in terms of percentages, your settings come to:
    • Carbs - 38%
    • Protein - 40%
    • Fat - 22%

Like Nony said, your protein is higher and fat lower than it needs to be.

The MFP default macros are 50% from carbohydrates, 20% from protein and 30% from fat, but you could certainly take some from carbs and give it to protein to find a happier middle ground from where you are now.
  • lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member