What kind of technology are you guys using?

I am a tech nerd (yes, I admit it), but I have struggled to find a good set of tools. Also, I am concerned about data privacy. What are you using, has it helped you, what features are missing that other tools might have? Totally curious!

Replies

• kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,846 Member
    Please elaborate - obviously I wouldn't want my credit card data to be stolen, or info that would allow identity theft, but are you also talking about other sorts of data?

I recently got an app from an industry in which a competitor had been outted for sharing data with Facebook. The app I went with is based in the EU and subject to stricter data privacy standards than American companies. Facebook has a very long history of violating users' privacy. I think it's sleazy for apps I use to sell my data to FB, but not surprising, and since I don't see FB ads, I don't really care. I did avoid Facebook for the longest time, but eventually had to get it for work. However, I don't use my last name, or real birthday, and I'm definitely not someone who posts when I am away on vacation.

I'm very conscious of my internet footprint, and love that if someone were to google my real first and last name they would get a famous athlete :lol:
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 31,724 Member
    Tools for doing *what*, exactly?

You're on MFP: Are you concerned about that, looking for a more secure or privacy-oriented calorie tracker? Weight trending apps? Wifi-enabled bodyweight scales? Fitness tracker devices? Apps for supporting training plans (for what activities/sports)? Wifi-enabled fitness equipment?

Some vendors are more security/privacy attuned than others, but some of my personal data is more sensitive than others, too . . . I think it matters what you're looking for.
  • gentle_sir_hulk
    gentle_sir_hulk Posts: 52 Member