Will lexapro make you gain weight?

Options
Hi guys, I’m quite new to MFP. I have decided to lose a few pounds to be more comfortable in my current pants… long story short, I (5’7) was about 129lb back in July/August 2021. I have been on this weight for quite a while, like at least over a year. I started taking lexapro around that time for anxiety. It was a very low dose, 2.5mg a day and it helped me. In the beginning I always felt nauseous in my stomach, it kept waking me up in the middle of the night for like 2 weeks straight, it felt like I gotta put something in my stomach to ease that uncomfortable feeling, but I couldn’t eat much. I always eat healthy, prepare food myself, well, 85% of the time. I exercise regularly (light dumbbells) like 2-3 times a week. Overall I’m in pretty healthy lifestyle. But! I weighed myself yesterday and I was 138.8, this morning I am 139.2lb. I mean, of course I could use more steps everyday and eat less amount (I think I was around 1800cal a day) but 10lb weight gain is not normal in such a short amount of time. Anyone taking lexapro has similar experience??

Replies

• Justin_7272
    Justin_7272 Posts: 341 Member
    Options
    I've never heard of an anti-depressant/anxiety med increasing weight. Their methods of action are typically neurological and as far as I know do not generally affect thyroid function to any significant degree. Just as many things, they may increase you appetite (this is why-to a certain extent-people are claiming sugar substitutes are bad because they increase weight), but as far as I'm aware there's no direct correlation. It looks like trycyclic antidepressants may cause weight gain, but anymore these are rarely used. Interesting short read (https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/319527#types-of-antidepressants-that-may-cause-weight-gain).