Starting over, Frustrated, feeling hopeless

Options
I am losing... not weight, but my MIND.

I've been doing this for like 6 years. I hit some "highest" weight, start losing weight, do REALLY well for months (like losing 50-80 lbs in a few months) and then... slide off, somehow. And gain it all back. And gain even more.

Then I look up and it's been a year and I weigh myself and I have hit my "highest" weight, and the cycle just repeats, endlessly.

I know all the math. I have memorized the formulas for BMI and BMR, for TDEE and NEAT. I know the decimals to use for different factors like activity level and outliers in height, and I probably have a bigger *mental* database of the calories in specific foods than MFP does. And I always think that HELPS, but it doesn't. It makes it worse. Because I end up giving advice which works great for other people. So then when I say something STUPID and start talking myself into a corner, no one disputes it. Everyone goes "oh well... you know better than I do, so I guess that makes sense..." and so I do the stupid thing and suddenly I'm eating worse and worse and it snowballs.

Anyway... stats: 43, Female, 5'1", Today's weight was 276. History is...

February 2017: Had trouble fitting on a ride with my kid at a theme park. Bought a scale. Weighed myself... 202 lbs. Over 200 lbs!!! Highest Weight Ever. Did a bunch of research and found that every diet works based on calories, so learned everything I could. Set my goal as ~1500kcal/day. Did alright. Was off on a lot of days, but I was figuring it out. Hit 160 in July, and decided to stop tracking so I could focus on quitting smoking (failed at that). 42 lbs lost in 5 months.