Garmin Connect and workouts

Options
Does anyone know if Garmin Connect calorie adjustment includes the steps for a specified run? I did 2 runs that are added. I am wondering if I should erase the runs and only use the Garmin Connect calorie adjustment number? Any help is appreciated. I’m new to Garmin!!xnqha76fql72.jpeg

Replies

• mtaratoot
    mtaratoot Posts: 13,262 Member
    Options
    I have a Garmin device.

If I do a walk, hike, or run, I get zero credit for steps until I have surpassed the calories that it thinks I should have got from my activity. It might depend on some other settings you have either in Garmin or MFP. I have never used my Garmin device to track running in place. I would not erase anything. I'd let Garmin take over, then observe for several weeks to make sure your results match your expectations. If they do - great. If not, change something, but let the device do its work. Like I say for SCUBA - trust your gauges.
  • Lietchi
    Lietchi Posts: 6,125 Member
    Options
    Theoretically, you shouldn't delete anything and just let the sync do its work. But that adjustment looks huge.
    Check your total calorie burn for the day in Garmin.
    And then compare it to the number MFP received for that day: tap on the adjustement in your diaary and in the screen that appears, tap on the adjustment again and you'll see what the number is that MFP received from Garmin for the whole day.
    If those two numbers are the same, then the sync is working as it should.
  • AmunahSki
    AmunahSki Posts: 96 Member
    edited February 17
    Options
    Hi, I have Garmin connected to MFP. I have set MFP to ‘lightly active’, so Garmin doesn’t allocate any extra calories until I reach a threshold. I do not have ‘negative calories’ on my settings.