Vegetable diversity for gut health

Options
chucks510
chucks510 Posts: 2 Member
I have gut health issues and my nurse practitioner (and several other people) have recommended vegetable diversity to address these issues. Does anyone here have experience with how to put this into practice?

When I search the internet for "vegetable diversity" or better yet, "veggies for gut health," I get lots of results. This link jumps out at me: 16 Best Fruits and Vegetables For Gut Health, According to RDs.

Any thoughts? I'm new here. This is my first post.
Thanks, Chuck

Replies

• HoneyBadger302
    HoneyBadger302 Posts: 1,974 Member
    Options
    Caveat that I am not a medical professional in any way, shape, or form.

Typically when I think of vegetable diversity I think: Color and Type (root, leaf, fruit (of the plant), flower, bulb, berry, etc)
    So, to me, making sure I had veggie diversity would be getting veggies that are a variety of those two categories. Walking through the produce department and going through the aisle and looking at each veggie and seeing where it falls in those, and compare "is what I have in my cart the same, or is this another group?" Then, filling your cart with that variety!

I naturally tend towards a pretty wide variety of veggies because I like diversity in my meals, but I could see how that could be more of a struggle if you're used to what you're familiar with and haven't explored some of the strange or unknown veggies.

Getting a vegetable CSA helped me explore veggies I was otherwise avoiding at the grocery store, and got me to try some new things. Now I'm less nervous about that "weird" vegg that caught my eye on the shelf. Google recipes help, not hard to say you have something like fennel and look up some recipes or ideas on how to prep/eat it.
  • neanderthin
    neanderthin Posts: 9,923 Member
    edited March 6
    Options