Do you think people are lacking 'class'?

Options

Replies

• sjtreely
    sjtreely Posts: 1,014 Member
    Options
    Let me tell you a little story ......

I've been teaching for 26 years. Last year I had a student who was using as many avoidance techniques as humanly possible to not doing his work. I had had enough of his antics and told him, "Here's the deal, you're not going to lunch until your work is complete."

Lunch was 7 minutes from the time I made the statement. The work he needed to complete would take him 3 minutes at most to complete.

He called my bluff.

When it was lunch time and his work wasn't done, he told me it was his lunch time. I acknowledge it was, but since his work wasn't done he wasn't going. He cried.

He cried for another 7 minutes and then must have realized I meant what I said.

He put forth the effort to complete the work. He was done in 2 minutes. Two. He left for lunch and entered the line with the rest of his peers.

After school his mother was sooooo outraged she went straight to central office. After that she went straight to our DOE. There was a full blown investigation at the state level about my behavior as a teacher and my intent to deny this student the right to eat.

True story. I can't make that stuff up.

As it turns out, I did nothing wrong. Well ....... I was cited for raising student expectations even when the parent wanted to settle for less than what her son was capable of doing.

Yes, I believe we live in a society of entitlement. Sadly, I see it getting worse before getting better.
  • philOHIO
    philOHIO Posts: 520 Member
    Options
    By reading the responses, not only do we lack class as a society - not enough money is invested in our educational system!
  • auticus
    auticus Posts: 1,051 Member
    Options