The future of our nation...........

Options

Replies

• dictations
    Options
    I think SOME of the things they teach in school are completely useless. I know algebra is supposed to sharpen your analyzing/cognitive thinking skills, but then again I'm a student and shoving formulas and long numbers down our throats doesn't help. I have a very deep hatred of math, I think most people only use basic math on a daily basis anyway.

I could write a whole novel about some of the subjects taught at schools, but I think I'll stop here.
    Really? I find algebra to be useful! Here's 1 example of many I could provide:

My step-son came home with this expensive fancy wireless router and said, "Look, it has 6000 square foot range!" I looked at him and said, "That doesn't mean 6000 feet away. Remember that it will transmit in all directions, so we are talking about the area of a circle. If you recall, Area equals PI times the radius squared. So, 6000 = 3.14(R^2) Now solve for R. He looked at me funny, so I solved for R for him. The range was about 45 feet from the router.

So instead of thinking he had a faulty router, he realized he had been suckered by the marketing.

I've also used trigonometry in my every day life too. And literature. And science. :bigsmile:

There's nothing wrong with being well rounded.

If there's anything I ever need to know/remember, Google's there for a reason. I know it's not ALWAYS the answer, but my brain would never remember all that unnecessary info.
    Good for you that you're well rounded, and I see what you mean, but for MY life I don't think I'll need to know anything more than the basics. Trying to teach me and 99% of teens/kids out there anything more than the basics for math and some other subjects is a waste of everyone's time.
    Those classes should be changed for money management classes or something to prepare kids for things they'll actually need to know.
  • Classalete
    Classalete Posts: 464 Member
    Options