Benefits of lifting low weight / high reps

Options
My goal is to lift heavy.
As much as I can manage for 8-10 reps.

I keep getting recommendations from people (like my chiropractor) to lift less weight, and do higher reps.

what would be the benefit of light weights/more reps as opposed to lifting heavy?

Replies

• tabi26
    tabi26 Posts: 535 Member
    Options
    From what I've read, low weights with high reps increases muscle endurance, but does not increase muscle. I'm no expert though and could be wrong :)

Edited for spelling :)
  • chrissym78
    chrissym78 Posts: 628 Member
    Options
    From what I've read, low weights with high reps increases muscle enurance, but does not increase muscle. I'm no expert though and could be wrong :)

^^ this is my impression too.
  • slporter3
    slporter3 Posts: 20
    Options
    Bump....would like to know as well.
  • thefuzz1290
    thefuzz1290 Posts: 777 Member
    Options
    My goal is to lift heavy.
    As much as I can manage for 8-10 reps.

I keep getting recommendations from people (like my chiropractor) to lift less weight, and do higher reps.

what would be the benefit of light weights/more reps as opposed to lifting heavy?

Do you know why your chiropractor is telling you to lift lighter? If you lift heavy, your muscles will get strong, which means less knee and back pain, which means fewer trips to him.
  • Journeyingascrystal
    Options
    well Lizzy Pooh.. as you know I am in training for Figure Competition.. thats EXACTLY what they have me doing.. and I mean HIGH reps.. like 30 -50 depending on the exercise.. It is SUPPOSED to tone/lean.. allow for LONG beautiful muscles. All i know is.. I AM IN PAIN.. I never knew light weights could do this. I would say give it a try.. because I didnt feel this much action when i was lifting heavier... I'm new to it.. so i will update by month's end with before and progress pic..
  • thefuzz1290
    thefuzz1290 Posts: 777 Member
    Options