Replies

• mwilke
    mwilke Posts: 378 Member
    Options
    bump for later
  • m60kaf
    m60kaf Posts: 421 Member
    Options

It seems to be pretty hard on my knees... so I think I need to replace my joggers (I have to get the ones with super arch support because my feet roll in and give me shin splints, but I don't remember my knees suffering last time I took up running.)

I started training for a 10k last year - went from hardly being able to run and built up to 20 min runs.

Then I got on one of these apps and tried a 60 min (because that was the course) and in the last 5 mins it all went wrong - old knee injury kicked in couldn't shake it off. Felt really so so bad about not being able to do the 10k and running went from something I was not that bothered about to something I got so frustrated about that I couldn't do - so my advice here.. Careful of pushing when you know you are prone to injury and do a course that distance wise you have to do 2 or 3 laps so you can miss a lap if it becomes too much - the 10 min getting back home on an injury broke me bad... don't be a give up but be really sensible- not running a lap is much better than putting yourself out for 3 months

six months on I've fully rested my knee and just got motion control trainers - and I can't tell you the difference they make don't run another mile if you over pronate without them --- the whole leg position and everything just feels right. I put off getting them because I couldn't believe they would make much difference - I cant explain how wrong I was

Got a slight muscle pull from a bit of a sprint at weekend - sorted itself overnight - so happy I'm back to that level of 'injury' the knee was like someone sticking a knife in my knee
  • andyp79
    andyp79 Posts: 34 Member
    Options