Eating too few calories.

Options
I'm a full-time student, and on days when I'm in class all day, I tend to not eat much and just drink coffee and/or water, because I don't have the time to find real food. This means that when I get home at night, and I've had my dinner, I'm still short 300+ calories (of my 1200 calories/day goal).

What should I do at these times? I don't want to starve myself, but I'm not hungry either, and I don't want to eat 300+ calories of unwanted food or junk, just to fill the gap.

If it's not an everyday thing, is it going to hurt me to fall short of my calories once or twice a week? Should I be looking at 1200 as a limit and not a requirement, like my sister says?

263226.png
Created by MyFitnessPal.com - Calorie Counter

Replies

• bapaige
    bapaige Posts: 18 Member
    Options
    I too am doing 1200 calories/day. I have had the same problem with not eating the total calories every day. My trainer said that once a week would be fine but not to make a habit of it as it will put your body into starvation. One days that I don't eat the 1200, I try to eat at least the 1200 the next day. I don't know how others feel about that, but so far it has worked for me. I have lost 12 pounds in 3 weeks.
  • PlumCrazyGirl
    PlumCrazyGirl Posts: 1,463 Member
    Options
    Think about on the go food - protein bars, fruit, cut up veggies.
    Something that you can throw in backpack, lunch bag or leave in car.

I have placed a few protein bars, instant oatmeal packets, fruit cups at my office cubicle for times that I see I'm falling short.

I received advice that I wasn't eating enough. I was in a similiar situation as yours not hungry - falling short of calories as well. A fitness trainer told me I wasn't eating enough. Now, I mentally force myself to think eat more.
    147642.png
    Created by MyFitnessPal.com - Calorie Counter
  • vraehn
    vraehn Posts: 1,008
    Options