Runng inside SUCKS any suggestions??

Options
so i have been running for a little over 5 months now, and have found it to be very enjoyable.. i started inside at the gym on the tredmill i would run 4 miles 2-3 times a week... then about 2 months ago i started to train for my first 5k so i was told it is much harder to run outside. so i decided to start running outside as much as possible... ive come to find it WAY easier im much faster and the time flys!! The weather is getting much warmer here and im not a big fan of running outside in the heat, so i have tried to do a few runs back at the gym, and i have found it to be EXTREAMLY difficult. (after about 1 mile i start checking the time constantly and actually feel way more exhasted then normal) i dont know if its boredom or what... and im much slower, then i am outside.. however im not willing to let running out of my life through the summer months and was looking for anyone who had any suggestions to make running inside less boring:ohwell:

Replies

• BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,248 Member
    Options
    Once I made the move outdoors I was hooked too.

My solution is to run early in the morning before it heats up (I'm not a big fan of running in really hot weather either....)
  • SaraTN
    SaraTN Posts: 536 Member
    Options
    I do a lot of interval training on the treadmill. I like doing 400 meter "sprints" with a 2 - 3 minute recovery always trying to increase my speed. Sometimes I do a 400 meter run 2-3 minute walk then 800 meter run 2-3 minute walk then 1200 meter run 2-3 minute walk and finally 1600 meters. It helps the time go by a little faster.

I also do some cardio circuits - ie. run 20 min on treadmill, 20 min on elliptical, and then 20 min. on a bike. I am with you running outside is much easier and I am generally faster as well.
  • CarsonRuns
    CarsonRuns Posts: 3,039 Member
    Options