140lb, 5, 3 doing 1000 calorie diet .....

Options
Hi I am a 20 year old student and currently weigh about 140lb and want to get down to 112. I have been a yo-yo dieter since being around the age of 10, I am 21 in august and want to look and feel good for 21!

I started university in September and weighed about 162lb and just lost it through being at uni and not around family etc so I did not eat as much. I am now 140 and started calorie counting 3 weeks ago, I am hoping to lose around 18lb in the next 9 weeks and would love to hit goal by the end of August.

I read around about different diets all the time, its always conflicting information and it really annoys me so I wanted to ask if this starvation mode is a myth or if it does exist, will I go into it by being on a diet of 1000 calories a day??

Am I being too ambitious wanting to lose 2lb a week, I thought this was ok and within the ranges that are classed as safe to lose in a week.

All this information is making me feel down, I don't get weighed much as I don't have scales at uni so I just do it when I go home or if I am in town sometimes.

I don't get much time to exercise because of my course well apart from a couple of walks a week, is this going to make me not lose weight etc?

Sorry for the long post and silly questions its just annoying reading that your wrong for eating 1000 calories and then reading other stuff.

Has anyone been successful in going from about 140 - 112 and height around 5, 3.

Advice/ info etc would be much appreciated :) x

Replies

• jessewessy1990
    jessewessy1990 Posts: 67 Member
    Options
    1000 calories is too low, I would never survive on that. How tall are you and what kind of things do you do during the day?? Do you have lots of lectures or do you walk alot etc
    I would suggest a minimum of 1200 but even that is pushing it, ideally 1500 would be better!
    Wish you all the luck
  • islandnutshel
    islandnutshel Posts: 1,143 Member
    Options