Whey Protein

Replies

• akiramezu
    akiramezu Posts: 278
    Can someone please explain to me the point of taking Whey Protein if you are not a body builder?

I'm still rather new to fitness and supplementing, and I'm trying to figure what I need, what I don't, what's just hype, and what may actually help make me fitter and healthier. Any other tips you have would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Hey

Whey Protein is a rather convenient and in expensive form of protein (when comparing the cost per serving), if you don't meet your daily protein requirements, whey protein is an excellent way to get to those numbers without having the need to woof down some red meat and such, which by the way, is very expensive =P. But whether your a body builder, athlete or just the average person who exercises, it is a great way to effectively fuel your body and allow you to recover faster, because it is fast digesting, the protein and the amino acids that companies usually add to the blend, get straight into your blood stream and muscles as soon as it hits your digestive system =]
  • tross0924
    tross0924 Posts: 909 Member
    Almost every place that sells it will take it back if you don't like it. Just take it back and order some better stuff.

And Wal-Mart takes everything back.
  • Amplifiedx11
    Amplifiedx11 Posts: 15 Member
    I actually like most protein powders I've bought, but hadn't purchased any from Wal-Mart until recently. Man that stuff was nasty. Sure it's cheaper than the rest, but it tasted like a garbage truck colliding with a sewage treatment plant inside my mouth.

My point is, there are others out there that taste really good, even with just water. Had I of tried that Body Fortress stuff first, I probably would have been turned off on protein powder in general. So don't worry, as they say in the advice columns, "There's plenty of fish in the sea."
  • rm830
    rm830 Posts: 531 Member