Protein Shakes & Powder - How to use?

Options
dsmease7
dsmease7 Posts: 81 Member
Okay, I'm new to all this stuff and have been trying to find out about protein supplements. I purchased some shakes & powder but not sure how to get the best benefit. Do I use them before or after exercise or in place of meals? I know I can use more protein during the day but don't know the best way to go about it. Do I need to get protein bars as well?
I mainly do elliptical as my form of exercise, but as soon as my DVD arrives I am going to start JM 30 DS. Any advice or help would be appreciated. I am just a little confused about this.

Replies

• mcmaverick
    Options
    If the shakes contain vitamins and minerals then you can use them as a meal replaceent. For example, I have six meals per day. I drink Myoplex Lite Shakes or Right Light Shakes in place of some meals. For pure added protein I use Optimum Nutrition's Natural Whey. You should always have a protein shake immediately following exercise. Here is an example of a typical day for me:

7:30 AM: Egg beaters on whole wheat bread
    10:30 AM: Myoplex Lite Shake
    12:30 PM: Chicken Salad with Apple
    3:00 PM: Protein Shake or Protein Bar (Optimum Nutrition Whey Crisp Bar)
    4:30 PM: Workout, immediately following workout Protein Shake
    6:30 PM: Salmon with Brown Rice and Spinach
    8:30 PM: Right Light Shake
  • xTwK
    xTwK Posts: 121
    Options