Why does my chicken breast come out dry

Options
Everytime I cook chicken breat it comes out dry and tasteless. I cook my chicken breast in my oven and I season it with different species and what not. Am I over cooking it or what? Oh and yeah, I am new at cooking

Replies

• misskerouac
    misskerouac Posts: 2,242 Member
    Options
    I find a lot of people are really scared to undercook chicken so they cook the crap out of it.

I use a small indoor grill (it's one of those ones that's like a Panini press/grill/griddle) and I cook my chicken breast on there and they come out perfectly cooked and super moist every time. I tenderize the pieces a bit first then cook them for maybe 10 minutes max. If I'm unsure if it's fully done I just cut into one.

ETA: taste wise, it's better if you put a good seasoning on it and put it in a ziplock bag and put it back in the fridge for a few hours. I like putting fresh crushed garlic with rosemary. Or my husband loves bacon salt sprinkled on it before I cook it.
  • Acg67
    Acg67 Posts: 12,142 Member
    Options
    You are overcooking it, you could also try a brine for the chicken before cooking
  • Crochetluvr
    Crochetluvr Posts: 3,143 Member
    Options
    Yep...you probably are. I prefer to make mine in a grill pan...that way I can monitor the cooking. When it starts to "sweat" and the juices run clear, its done. :)
  • JennieAL
    JennieAL Posts: 1,726 Member
    Options
    Do you have a slow cooker? It changes everything. Seriously... tender chicken breasts, no stock/liquid required unless you just want to. I put in 9 frozen breasts for six hours... shredded with a fork beautifully. We ate it for 2-3 days with a homemade bbq sauce poured over... delicious and too easy.
  • Staceyblewin
    Staceyblewin Posts: 96 Member
    Options
    I used to think I hated chicken, then I realized that both myself and my husband overcook it. Turns out, chicken is delicious when cooked properly, even with very little seasoning.