Coffee addiction

Options

Replies

• Marianna93637
    Marianna93637 Posts: 230 Member
    edited January 2015
    Options
    If there is a coffee addict, that is me. Or so I thought.
    I have been drinking coffee since I was 14, and I've been drinking espresso since 1999. I drink a double espresso in the morning, and in the past I took another one with me to work or had one when I came home.

Part of my addiction is to the caffeine, but other part was to the creamer. I've always drank my coffee with flavored creamer, which translates to lots of fat and sugar.
    Since I've been logging, I experimented with different things: sugar free (not fat free) creamer + Truvia, kinda ok, but I don't really like it. Fat free (not sugar free) flavored creamer from Nestle, I like it, it's lower in calories, but it's still a lot if I put a lot in in my coffee. Fat free / sugar free tastes weird, but I can have more and I can tolerate it on some days.
    I had to say no to the regular flavored creamer.

I have been drinking about half the coffee as I used to because I have to use less creamer (regardless of which kind I use, I sacrifice some taste), because I now know how many calories that means. (300-350 calories in the past instead of the 100-200 now).

Turns out I wasn't as much of a coffee addict, because I'm not sleepy, not moody, and don't have headaches. I was addicted to the taste.
  • taymam
    taymam Posts: 55 Member
    Options
    I was getting older and drinking a pot a day and subsequently, up half the night.
    Then I started getting very anxious along with some awful panic attacks.
    I came to discover that my body could no longer take that much caffeine.
    I pretty much stopped the coffee except for an occasional cup in the morning here and there.
    Now I drink one cup of green tea and one cup of black tea in the morning with almond milk and stevia.