If you're not building muscle in a deficit, you're...

Options

Replies

• auddii
    auddii Posts: 15,357 Member
    Options
    njitaliana wrote: »
    ndj1979 wrote: »
    newbie gains + water retention + losing body fat = what you are seeing...

How long is one considered a newbie? I've been losing steadily for 5 months. Would newbie gains and water retention still be factors after 5 months?
    Be a factor in what? Have your losses stalled, or are you making strength gains?
  • Hornsby
    Hornsby Posts: 10,322 Member
    Options
    herrspoons wrote: »
    Next week: Can you build a brick wall with no bricks?

And logically, I agree with you... That's what makes it the hardest for me but then I watched it happen... It makes my brain crazy...Do I believe everything I know to be true? Or do I believe the tape measure and mirror? It's tough.

• njitaliana
    njitaliana Posts: 814 Member
    edited March 2015
    Options
    auddii wrote: »
    Be a factor in what? Have your losses stalled, or are you making strength gains?

I'm making strength gains and have lost 63 lbs. The other person said that my increased calf muscles are just newbie gains/water retention. But, my physical therapist said my calf muscles have indeed increased in both size and strength. So, I'm asking if 5 months in is still considered newbie gains.
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options

Less bricks perhaps - not no bricks.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options
    Hornsby wrote: »
    Meh, I've been eating at maintenance for about 9 months. Arms are up from 14 to 15 and some change. Waist is down from 33" to 30". Chest up from 38 to 42. Weight....175. That jumps around from 173-178. Probably dropped 6-7% BF if I was guessing. All in all, not that slow for a recomp in my opinion.