Should you force yourself to drink more?

Options
12346»

Replies

• noobletmcnugget
    noobletmcnugget Posts: 518 Member
    edited April 2015
    Options
    Can you provide me with your basis for this? Because to be honest from a healthcare professional stand point it doesn't add up. I'm a nurse and when a patient comes in with dark urine the first tests are a urinalysis, CMP, CBC, and liver/kidney function testing. Plus they are immediately given IV fluids. I just want to understand where you are coming from because all the advice that's been posted have been met with resistance.

ijl5m1kw17cq.jpg

I'm certain it's correct. I learnt about it in loads of detail in a lecture course at university, and have a 50 page set of notes on it.

It has a brief summary under "osmoregulation in animals" here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Osmoregulation#Osmoregulation_in_animals

I'm not meeting your posts with resistance. I'm discussing it with you.

And yeah, I'm sure tests are immediately done for excessive dehydration and other urine abnormalities as they're good indicators of dysfunction.

PS: why on earth would I be trolling about it?
  • noobletmcnugget
    Options
    Can you provide me with your basis for this? Because to be honest from a healthcare professional stand point it doesn't add up. I'm a nurse and when a patient comes in with dark urine the first tests are a urinalysis, CMP, CBC, and liver/kidney function testing. Plus they are immediately given IV fluids. I just want to understand where you are coming from because all the advice that's been posted have been met with resistance.

ijl5m1kw17cq.jpg

I think people were misunderstanding where the OP was coming from. She wanted to know the WHY behind why the dark urine is a good indication of dehydration. Most people were just saying that it was a good indication, but not why it was a good indication.

YES.
  • llUndecidedll
    llUndecidedll Posts: 724 Member
    Options