13»

Replies

• juggernaut1974
    juggernaut1974 Posts: 6,212 Member
    edited May 2015
    Options
    ndj1979 wrote: »
    emmoen wrote: »
    I don't understand how some of you stated that it cannot be muscle gains... If your body has the extra fat that can be burn... You body can use that energy to build muscle

Also, if OP is lifting heavy she may get some newbie gains, but those will eventually peter out...

Doesn't sound like that's the case:
    eviehowie wrote: »
    I have been doing cardiac rehab 3 times a week since February 2015 and I walk for an hour on all the other days not in rehab.

You're not building ANY muscle on that.

You're either miscalculating your calories in or out (or probably a combination of both).
  • FunkyTobias
    FunkyTobias Posts: 1,776 Member
    Options
    Pu_239 wrote: »
    ahoy_m8 wrote: »
    Along the same lines as "Fat cannot turn into muscle".... I sometimes see the comment "Your body turns excess carbs into fat." This is also untrue, technically. Excess carbs do not get stored as fat. The body prioritizes energy oxidation source based roughly on storage ability.

Alcohol- no ability to store it- body will prioritize alcohol metabolism until it is all gone.
    Protein- not much amino acid storage ability- body will use what it can and metabolize the rest (up to half intake) for energy.
    Carb- pretty good glycogen storage ability- if stores already full and higher priority sources not available, the body will metabolize it. Generally speaking in a normal person, glycogen storage is about one day's worth of carb intake.
    Fat- EXCELLENT, virtually unlimited, storage ability- fat can/will be stored until other sources run out.