My Food Diary - Your opinions please

AspenDan
AspenDan Posts: 703 Member
edited June 2015 in Health and Weight Loss
Wacha think? I'm 6'1, 320, lost about 15lbs in a few weeks.
First, I'm not starving, I eat all my food between 3-9pm, and with all the water I drink (about 64oz) I really never feel hungry.
Second I basically weigh everything (I'd say up to 90% accuracy) on a digital scale, mostly in grams. Even things that say X cups, the back says 1cup(37g) and I weight it out as 37g but log it as 1 cup.

So, opinions, should I eat more of something, less of another, am I not eating enough or doing alright? I'm new to weight loss so this is all very interesting to me. Thanks

Replies

• sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,809 Member
    The idea of goal calories is to try and get close to that goal - why are you massively undercutting your target?
    You don't have to deprive yourself to that extent to lose weight. You may find this sustainable for a while but with the amount of weight you have to lose it has to be sustainable for the long run. Eat like a 6'1" man not like a child!

Just think for a moment what you will have to do if your weight loss plateaus, reduce your already very low calories even more?

Your protein is really low, your calories are dreadfully low - that's two great ways too lose a load of muscle mass along with the fat you want to lose. The opposite of what your should be aiming to achieve.

Read the very helpful stickies in the Getting Started forum. Start again would be my suggestion.
  • Sued0nim
    Sued0nim Posts: 17,456 Member
    edited June 2015
    nlwabokypfzv.jpg

If you're weighing everything log it as weight not cups

Did you make the oats with water ...make it with milk to add calories, calcium etc

Half a baked potato for 55 cals I doubt it, that doesn't sound like an accurate MFP database entry ...you need to be careful of the one you choose

but eat the whole one...add butter to it ..a teaspoon is not much