Does Lifting As A Couple Work?

Options
13»

Replies

• crpoll5
    crpoll5 Posts: 105 Member
    Options
    I just want to let all who commented on this post a few months ago and give you an update of how things are going. We are still lifting as a couple and it has made our marriage stronger. Yes, it takes time to change out the weights but I am patient and can wait for her to add lbs on the barbell when it is her turn. :blush:
  • datsundriver87
    datsundriver87 Posts: 186 Member
    Options
    My wife and I work out at the same time to keep us both motivated and to push each other to not skip our gym visit, but we both have agreed we like to get it our own zone and not lift together, plus she goes to orange theory fitness and I go to 24 hour lol.
  • ew_david
    ew_david Posts: 3,473 Member
    edited February 2016
    Options
    I started lifting on my own and after a while the husband wanted to join. At first, I was like NO, this is my workout; you can't join. He kinda looked a little bummed at that response, so then we did start lifting together. We followed the same program (because I wasn't going to stop or change what I was doing) and it has worked for us. I now have a spotter when I need one and he has structure to follow (he was famous for only working upper body). Unracking weights is kind of a pain, but I don't mind most of the time.

Eta: we also run together, which was a disaster in the past. But now, it's part of our schedule.
  • MommyMeggo
    MommyMeggo Posts: 1,222 Member
    edited February 2016
    Options
    We lift on alternate days most of the week <at home> but we are on the same program. He is also sweet enough to deload the bar for me after he is done.
    I had to drag him kicking and screaming but its nice to see him flex in the mirror once again...3 kids later. <3

edited for typo
  • peaceout_aly
    peaceout_aly Posts: 2,018 Member
    Options