BCAAs? has anyone noticed a difference in the speed of recovery and not aching so much after?

i have been recommended to take bcaas to speed up my recovery from weight lifting as i can get very sore muscles the next day. just wanted more opinions. has it worked for you?

Replies

• Norris7493
    Norris7493 Posts: 1 Member
    I had this issue. I've been working out like 7 or 8 times per week for the last 8 months while on a calorie deficit (down 71LBS). After about a month of this, I was having a ton of issues with recovery. After doing a lot of reading on this. I decided to pump up my protein intake (between 40 - 50% of my calories). Not only is my recovery much improved, but I'm making strength gains while on a large calorie deficit. I get most of my protein from meat, whey protein (isopure brand), and protein bars. Also, as a bonus, the increase in protein is making me way less hungry between meals. I've been doing the protein thing for about 7 months now.
  • TwinkieDong
    TwinkieDong Posts: 1,564 Member
    I tried both BCAA and L-Carnitine as all I do is lift weights. L-Carnitine is what helps with sore muscles, and I know that it helps. BCAAs I really dont know what they do. I know what they claim to do but I do not feel any different.
  • sammiewammie444
    sammiewammie444 Posts: 58 Member
    Norris7493 wrote: »
    I had this issue. I've been working out like 7 or 8 times per week for the last 8 months while on a calorie deficit (down 71LBS). After about a month of this, I was having a ton of issues with recovery. After doing a lot of reading on this. I decided to pump up my protein intake (between 40 - 50% of my calories). Not only is my recovery much improved, but I'm making strength gains while on a large calorie deficit. I get most of my protein from meat, whey protein (isopure brand), and protein bars. Also, as a bonus, the increase in protein is making me way less hungry between meals. I've been doing the protein thing for about 7 months now.