Curiosity - resting heart rate

So generally speaking, a normal resting heart rate is between 60 and 100 beats per minute. And generally a lower resting heart rate is associated with a better fitness level.

So I'm curious, what are the actual resting heart rates of people here?
What's your resting heart rate?
What's your BMI and fitness level?
Have you seen your resting heart rate evolve with weight loss or exercise?

I've noticed that my own resting heart rate is about 55, despite still being obese (BMI 30.5) and not very fit at all (although fitter than a few months ago). It's gone down about 5 beats per minute since October, not sure what my heart rate was before then, mid 60's I think. In October I weighed 10lbs more and I had been doing cardio (walking on treadmill) regularly for 2 months.

Replies

• Harold76
    Harold76 Posts: 341 Member
    Mine is about 66 currently. I've lost 55lbs and my BMI is about 29.6.
  • helen_goldthorpe
    helen_goldthorpe Posts: 340 Member
    Mine is around 50 (usual range is between 48 and 52, sometimes as low as 45, higher if I've been drinking). BMI about 26, pretty fit (lots of endurance cycling).
  • LeannJeffers
    LeannJeffers Posts: 486 Member
    BMI 26.8
    Resting <3 61
  • lx1x
    lx1x Posts: 38,308 Member
    BMI 24.2
    RHR 58
  • sarahsgoal2020
    sarahsgoal2020 Posts: 11 Member
    How do you find out?
  • NovusDies
    NovusDies Posts: 8,940 Member
    Mine is 53 now. It was 56 at the beginning of last year. I am still technically obese but now just barely. I do not keep up with my BMI. I would describe my current level of fitness as fair.

My fitness has steadily improved. It started at appalling in early 2018. Last year this time when my RHR was 56 it had improved to poor.

• LeannJeffers
    LeannJeffers Posts: 486 Member
    How do you find out?

You can find your BMI by googling BMI chart. Input your weight and height.
  • moonangel12
    moonangel12 Posts: 971 Member