Anyone else whose goal is still not a "healthy weight"?

Options

Replies

• Sedna_51
    Sedna_51 Posts: 277 Member
    Options
    I am a physician and I can tell you, BMI is unreliable at best. It was originally designed in the 18th century in Europe as a demographic tool and has no medical or scientific origin. It has been used as a category in medical studies, and for most "normal" build people is a fairly good indicator of ideal weight. Unfortunately, it cannot take into account people whose build falls outside that range. I am a very stocky, broad-shouldered person myself. The best shape I was ever in (high school and college) I was about 215. I am 5'8". I had defined abs, was a runner, and played multiple sports. I will never be able to get to my 'ideal' weight of 155-175 unless I have terminal cancer and am severely malnourished. The thing to keep in mind is that if you're making healthier choices, feeling better, and losing clearly excessive weight then you are on the right track. Don't be a slave to BMI or 'ideal' weight charts.

I just want to wrap my arms around this beautiful logic and never let go. From the Merck Manual:

"In adults, BMI, defined as weight (kg) divided by the square of the height (m2), is used to screen for overweight or obesity. BMI of 25 to 29.9 kg/m2 indicates overweight; BMI of ≥ 30 kg/m2 indicates obesity (see Table 2: Obesity and the Metabolic Syndrome: Body Mass Index (BMI)Tables). However, BMI is a crude screening tool and has limitations in many subpopulations. Some experts think that BMI cutoffs should vary based on ethnicity, sex, and age...Waist circumference and the presence of metabolic syndrome appear to predict risk of metabolic and cardiovascular complications better than BMI does."

www.merckmanuals.com/professional/nutritional_disorders/obesity_and_the_metabolic_syndrome/obesity.html