Flu Shots? thoughts

Options
Do you or your family get your flu shots? What are your thoughts on them??

Replies

• MB_Positif
    MB_Positif Posts: 8,897 Member
    Options
    In my entire life I have only had one, the one they made me get when I was pregnant. We don't get them for my son because the shot has egg in it and he is allergic and would have to go to the Children's Hospital an hour away for 3 separate doses.

He and I BOTH got the flu in January this year though and it sucked. I hadn't had it in years and he had never had it. I am slightly considering getting it this year and am interested in hearing what others have to say.
  • jonnythan
    jonnythan Posts: 10,161 Member
    Options
    Pretty much everyone should get the flu shot. It significantly decreases your chances of contracting, and therefore spreading, the flu.

Plus the flu sucks.
  • ninerbuff
    ninerbuff Posts: 48,688 Member
    Options
    Till last year, I never got them. Now that I work in a hospital supported gym, I either wear a mask or get the shot. I didn't want to wear the mask for 3 months.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer
    IDEA Fitness member
    Kickboxing Certified Instructor
    Been in fitness industry for 30 years and have studied kinesiology and nutrition
  • Lizzy622
    Lizzy622 Posts: 3,705 Member
    Options
    Flu sucks. I get the shot.
  • da_bears10089
    da_bears10089 Posts: 1,791 Member
    Options
    Yes, I get them through my work, and my kids will get them. The flu shot is an inactive virus, and the flu mist is a live virus. They protect against the strains that put people in the hospital. Definitely get them unless you do have an egg allergy.
  • kriskris92
    kriskris92 Posts: 190 Member
    Options
    I don't. Got it a couple times and got the flu, haven't got the shot in years and haven't had the flu either. I'm of the opinion that only the at risk members of the population should consider it.
  • addysolari