please explain the problem with low calories...

Options

Replies

• Akimajuktuq
    Akimajuktuq Posts: 3,037 Member
    Options
    I don't pay much attention to the number. I eat now WHEN I am hungry and I rarely come near the 1000 mark much LESS the 1200 or above. I am still losing, my trainer and Dr aren't upset, soooooooooooooooooo..It is a number

Good luck with the long term success of that strategy.... and fyi, your doctor and trainer may know *kitten* about nutrition. Your doctor for sure, and your trainer should know better-well so should the doctor but they don't usually take more than one course in nutrition in all their years of university. There are a whole bunch of Certified Personal Trainers right here on MFP that give the worst advice, and can't even get their own health in order.... So.
  • tracysbeans
    Options

I say NET your BMR because it's not okay to eat 1500 calories and then go spend an hour at the gym burning off 500.

Oh wow I'm new to all this and I didn't know doing this was an issue. Thanks for the info. So that is why MFP is adding in what I worked out to my food intake. I didn't realize that's why it was happening.

I need to etch this into my brain and not forget it!
  • Cheeky_and_Geeky
    Cheeky_and_Geeky Posts: 984 Member
    Options
    Basically your body will eat the muscle more than the fat. try to up your calories a bit & do strength training. I suggest taking a multivitamin that contains vit D. I eat 1200-1400 calories with moderate exercise & strength training & have lost 19lbs in 2 months.
  • vorgas
    vorgas Posts: 741 Member
    Options