Maybe my 100 pound weight loss goal was too ambitious

Options
Ok, MFP, I need a pep talk. I am feeling a little frustrated with my weight loss. I have been doing this for over 4 months and I still feel just as lost and unsure of myself as when I started. I am thinking that maybe my goal of 100 pounds is too ambitious and I don't have the strength, knowledge, skills to get there. Maybe 30 pounds is all that I have the ability to achieve and i need to just focus on maintaining what I have. I am still obese and for my health to be optimized, I need to get off another 70 pounds. I have read everything there is to find about caloric intake, exercise, cardio versus strength training and the more I read, the more confused I get. I see many people reach their 100 pound goal, but for some reason, I am starting to think that I am different and not capable of achieving it. The method that I used to lose the 30 pounds no longer seems to be working. I just need a pep talk. Especially from you guys who have managed to meet aggressive goals. I am not giving up, I am not stopping. I just don't know if I am doing this right. I am doubting myself because my results are not forth coming. I would like to print out your positive responses and hang them on my mirror to help keep me motivated. I love my MFP community and I am hoping you guys can talk me through this. UGH!!!

Replies

• Annie_01
    Annie_01 Posts: 3,096 Member
    Options
    I started out with 101lbs to lose. About all I knew was that I needed to eat less and be more active. In the past when I tried that approach I failed. This time...I decided to educate myself.

It is confusing...there is so much differing information out on the net. I sounds good...then your read something totally opposite...and it too sounds good.

Here is what I have done...

I eat how I plan to eat the rest of my life...in portions that fit my calories.

I also eat enough that I am not hungry all day.