Options
303enfield
303enfield Posts: 239 Member
and why do a of people on mfp hate them so much :angry:

Replies

• Wookinpanub
    Wookinpanub Posts: 635 Member
    Options
    I am no expert but my take is that carbs if not used by your body to give you energy are stored as fat. My diet was carb laden and combined with limited exercise gained a lot of weight over time.
  • SnuggleSmacks
    SnuggleSmacks Posts: 3,732 Member
    Options
    car·bo·hy·drate [kahr-boh-hahy-dreyt, -buh-]
    noun
    any of a class of organic compounds that are polyhydroxy aldehydes or polyhydroxy ketones, or change to such substances on simple chemical transformations, as hydrolysis, oxidation, or reduction, and that form the supporting tissues of plants and are important food for animals and people.
  • baba_helly
    baba_helly Posts: 810 Member
    Options
    Idk what they are but they make me fat.
  • eric_sg61
    eric_sg61 Posts: 2,925 Member
    Options
    http://www.bodyrecomposition.com/nutrition/a-primer-on-dietary-carbohydrates-part-1.html
    They are hated because people don't understand basic nutrition and how insulin really works.
  • SnuggleSmacks
    Options

No, too many calories makes you fat. It doesn't matter if those calories are carbs, protein or fat.
  • baba_helly
    Options

No, too many calories makes you fat. It doesn't matter if those calories are carbs, protein or fat.

It's definitely the carbs. I know my body.
  • bcattoes
    bcattoes Posts: 17,299 Member
    Options
    is there any one who can answer this with common sense

When in doubt, go to the experts. Real experts, not goofballs on the internet who think they are experts.

http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/carbohydrates/
  • SnuggleSmacks
    Options

Unless your body works differently than the standard human body, the biochemistry is the same. If carbs made one fat, all vegans would be fat. They eat almost nothing but carbs.
  • miss_phat_booty
    Options