5-7 people for running support, motivation, encouragement

Options

Replies

• LorinaLynn
    LorinaLynn Posts: 13,248 Member
    Options
    The website Active.com has some free programs to log your progress. I'm doing a 10k training plan now.
  • k83did
    k83did Posts: 7
    Options
    I love this thread! I am currently training for my first 5k. It is a week from Saturday and I have experienced an injury or two that I feel has set me back quite a bit. But I still plan to run! I would LOVE support and advice from those who have already have a 5k or two under their belt! :D
  • mymadori
    mymadori Posts: 28 Member
    Options
    For all of you lovely ladies preparing for your first 5k, I'd be happy to share my tips, since you asked, though I am not a pro by any means.

1) Your first race is all about setting your very first PR (personal record). Remember that any time you set is going to be your new record! Whether it's 30 minutes, 35 minutes, or 40 minutes, it doesn't matter.

2) You've probably heard this one before but I can't stress it enough...start slow. Off of the starting lines people will be flying past you. Don't be tempted to pick up the pace because you feel slower than other people around you. You're better off finding a pace and keeping it than starting fast and burning out. Do this and you'll start passing those same people around mile 2.

3) If you can, stage family members or friends at the mile 1 and 2 mark, as well as at the finish line. It helps motivate you to look like you're doing good when you run past them. :-)

4) If you can find the race course published online, try to run it a week or so in advance of the actual race so you'll know what to expect.