Eggs the ultimate superfood?

Options
No I'm not a professional nutritionist (though pehaps I have been a professional eater). However it dawned on me how many successful Mfp friends have eggs / egg whites in their diet and how eggs seem to be the staple of many athletes and bodybuilders.

I probably don't eat enough eggs myself but I found myself very hungry after a near 2 hour walk. I had a few light snacks such as popcorn and yoghurt but they didn't touch the sides. So I had to bring dinner forward - but what to eat? I was famished. Spotted the eggs in the fridge and decided to have a simple egg sandwich. 140 cals for the 2 eggs (packed with protein) and another 160 for a bread roll!

And you know what? I ain't hungry any more! Sure it's not a "proper" dinner but it probably filled me up as well as half a chicken dinner!

And then I remembered: many years ago (in my early 20s) I was at my lightest, very lean, muscular and fit. What was my staple food then? you guessed it: eggs!

Am I going loopy or are eggs perhaps the ultimate superfood?

What does everyone else think about eggs? What's your ultimate superfood that you eat?

Replies

• fightingforfiftyfive
    Options
    Tuna is my pick.. so versatile and filling!
  • AmeChops
    AmeChops Posts: 744 Member
    Options
    I don't know about ultimate superfood but I do know eggs are nommy, however they are cooked and I will always have at least 2 per day...eggs ftw!!!
  • paniologal
    paniologal Posts: 53 Member
    Options
    They are very satisfying. I really like them hard boiled but I don't really eat them as much as I probably should. I get a lot of protein without eating them, but I don't worry about my protein levels too much.
  • pinkminy
    pinkminy Posts: 286
    Options