Brutal Honesty - What was the final straw?

Options

Replies

• KCherry
    KCherry Posts: 61 Member
    Options
    I am currently in my final semester of nursing school and I am doing my clinical rotation at a long term acute care facility that specializes in patients on ventilators that cannot breathe on their own. Going there every week and taking care of patients with horrible bed sores and nasty infections who are on all sorts of tubes and drains started to wear on me pretty quick and make me think about my weight but recently I went out to my car after my day and I couldn't get my seat belt to buckle. That was it for me. Seeing the effects of obesity and how it tears lives apart made me reconsider my own for sure.
  • Tsrwalker
    Tsrwalker Posts: 164 Member
    Options
    For me it was a day at Disneyland with the family. We had gone on a lot of rides with no problem and then they wanted to go on the swings and not thinking I got in line. when it was time to get a swing I went towards one only to discover that I couldnt get my hips in and it was physically painful to try to squish into one. I proceeded to leave and my fiance said "Where are you going, Whats wrong?" and I just walked to the exit and went to sit down, I felt so horrible and humiilatied and started crying. I knew then I had to do something.

My fiance who loves me no matter what proposed to me and I told him yes, but I didn't want to look like this in the wedding pictures so we had to wait till I lost the weight. I don't want to not enjoy life anymore because I am limited, I want to be able to like the way I look and to be able to do the things others can do.
  • mommaof3in4years
    Options
    :( Ouch. :( ((Hugs)) Seems to me that he could have been just a bit more classy about how he phrased that. :(
  • rsouthland
    Options
    I've read every post and just have to say that you all are such an inspiration. We are all right there in the same boat. Thanks for your honesty.
  • RollinDawg