Stereotypes are awesome...

Options

Replies

• KariQuiteContrary
    KariQuiteContrary Posts: 274 Member
    Options
    I'm male with long hair. I look a little rough with it down sometimes. Panhandlers look the other way and won't even approach me, even in downtown Atlanta.

JM

Yeah my boyfriend gets this a lot. His hair is nearly 4 ft long and the first time some people meet him (whether down or in a slicked back ponytail) many automatically assume he must be a miscreant of some kind. What is it that makes people think that long hair on a guy equates to dirt bag?

Myself, I'm a teacher but I look very young (especially since dropping 40 lbs last year). My first day on the job (I was 24 at the time) I overheard lots of "Who's the new kid?". No matter how professionally I dress I never fail to get those people and students who show a lack of respect because I "look too young" to be a teacher, therefore I must not be any good at it.

It's ok though. Once they get to know me the stereotype is usually lost AND as a bonus, I know in 20 years I'm really going to appreciate looking nearly 10 years younger than I actually am! :drinker:
  • One of the women that works at doggie daycare asked me if I was cooking spanish rice or chimichongas the previous night because my dog smelled like Hispanic food. I told her that I don't use seasoning on my food/or eat salsa and she didn't believe me. She kept pressing me and when I told her I had fresh cocktail shrimp with cooked spinach she asked me if I stuffed them in a tortilla...LOL

OMG! I seriously hope she was joking!

LMAO she was totally serious. I was so surprised by the situation that I just stared at her with my mouth open.
  • Shayyy01
    Shayyy01 Posts: 290 Member
    Options