What do you burn with your chest strap HRM?

Options

Replies

• kapspecial
    kapspecial Posts: 67 Member
    Options
    I'm new to this HRM game as well. I just bought a Suunto M4 and have been using it this week. The numbers on my HRM have been a little lower than MFP/cardio machine, but only by 20-30 calories. I also notice that my heart rate isn't always captured. I have a large chest and sometimes in a move my bra would tilt the chest transmitter up or push it down a little and i'd look at my wrist and see that it had no heart rate. I'd readjust the strap and it would start up again. So if you're experiencing the same thing but not noticing you might be missing out on some calories. Now I don't know about the walk tape since that doesn't involve big movements. I say try another one and see if it's different. I bought a New Balance one last week and I thought it was way too low and I took it back and got this M4.
  • jamr753
    Options
    I was suprised how little calories I was burning also but I also realized that my heart rate wasn't very high compared to what I thought it would be. Just because I was out of breathe or tired, didn't mean that my heart rate was up. I trust these calories burned more than anything else. You should log it for a while and see because it should tell you what your average heart rate is during your workout. If my average is around 128 for a 40 min workout I'm only burning 200-300 calories vs a average heart rate of 140 for the same amount of time is burning closer to 400. This is probably the reason I wasn't losing weight before because I thought I was burning more calories and eating my exercise calories but in the end, I was eating too much. Good luck!
  • jaxCarrie
    jaxCarrie Posts: 214 Member
    Options
    Make sure your HRM is set to the correct weight and age. make sure the sensors are wet (to keep the connection going). Are you out of breathe when you do these exercises?