Don't let exercise trick you into overeating

Options
molsongirl
molsongirl Posts: 1,373 Member
I hear this quite often on this site..."you earned it", so eat it, and don't feel bad about it. The initial bell in my head goes "WHAT!?" now i'm not a doctor. I am a certified personal trainer and i'm a certified fitness instructor as well as owning my own studio and practicing Yoga for about 16 years. I do not understand the mentality of working your *kitten* off, in the gym as well as nutrionally then "rewarding" yourself with **** food. I don't get it? is it me, but why is that a good reason? It sounds totally counterproductive. First off exercise alone doesn't melt pounds. At the very best it can maintain your weight loss that you will lose through HEALTHY eating. This doesn't mean that you shouldn't exercise, the magical combination is exercise and calorie control. When you exercise you stimulate your appetite which in return can trigger psychological hunger deires...as in I EARNED that piece of cake, or I have exercised for 2 hours I earned those chicken wings. Exercising your body and your self control over food choices is wonderful for your health, providing that you don't give in to the urge to compensate all your hard work for calories burned. I'm not saying that the odd treat is going to destroy all your hard work, that's plain untrue, but consistently believing that you can have that treat cause your earned it, is a frighteneing way of thinking, and in the end will sabotage your goals. I would love to hear other opinions on the subject....please if you disagree with me tell me so! :wink: because for every pro "why I should have that treat" I have a con for ya :laugh: My last say on this subject, is eat the piece of (insert crap here) food. Because you want it, no guilt or explanatin attached. If you wouldn't have eaten before, but now that you've burned calories you think it's ok....why? Do you see the problem here?

Replies

• molsongirl
    Options