Say you are a broke college student....

Options

Replies

• Symphony6
    Symphony6 Posts: 116 Member
    Options
    I'm a broke student too, AND i have to feed a family of 5, so I have a few tips :)

First, I go through all my local grocery store fliers every week and plan my meals according to what is inexpensive. I also only shop at stores that do price-matching. I take all my fliers and make sure I get the best price on what I buy.

Since veggies are cheap where I live (even fresh!) I make a lot of dishes like stews, casseroles and chili. Ground turkey is almost the same price here as hamburger, so we substitute it. Whole grain pasta, a jar of pasta sauce and a lb of ground turkey is only 10 bucks, is nutritious, and it feeds us all. We also make homemade soup quite a bit. Jamie Oliver has a great tomato soup recipe here: http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/soup-recipes/tomato-soup-updated . It's inexpensive, freezable, and way better for you than ramen noodles. When I'm really broke, I make whole grain pancakes and turkey sausages for dinner :D
  • des24rob
    des24rob Posts: 77 Member
    Options
    dozen eggs for 1.29 at walgreens in my area. Same for turkey sausage and english muffins.
  • natachan
    natachan Posts: 149
    Options
    Canned fruit
    eggs
    chicken thighs and drumsticks
    roasts (these are generally fatty and tough, but put them in a crockpot with some other stuff and it's GREAT)
    round steak is a cheap cut of meat as well
  • seebeachrun
    seebeachrun Posts: 221 Member
    Options
    Canned fruit
    eggs
    chicken thighs and drumsticks
    roasts (these are generally fatty and tough, but put them in a crockpot with some other stuff and it's GREAT)
    round steak is a cheap cut of meat as well