People who are burning 1000+ calories a day

Options

Replies

• SoLongAndThanksForAllTheFish
    Options
    Be heavy, do hours of exercise such as hiking up elevation with weight: Daily Total / Goal 295 / 30 3,080 / 246

Yes, 3,000 cals in a day is far from typical, only for me from hiking up/down a mountain plus lifting.
  • fatcity66
    fatcity66 Posts: 1,544 Member
    Options
    Bikram (yoga in a 105 degree room) can burn a ton of calories in a 90 min sesh. I weigh 118 lbs and burn aprox. 950 cals per sesh. If you weigh more you burn more. Be warned this is not deep breathing yoga, this is cardio and strength yoga.

THIS. I am a beginner, so I only do 60 min at a time, but research says I burn over 600 calories in that time, and I believe it, my HR goes through the roof and I am out of breath during most of the class! I am always starving afterward, and I lose much more weight on weeks I practice (not just water weight, either, it stays off!)

That being said, most of the calorie counts on MFP are almost double what they should be, not sure why that is...I put in my own values for Bikram yoga. On SparkPeople it says I burn about 280 cal per 30 min on the elliptical, on MFP it says 430, and the machine says 370-400 depending on the level.
  • thedietpilot
    thedietpilot Posts: 56 Member
    Options
    Looking at MFP and also Googling other websites, it appears that (on average), if you were to just do a normal to brisk walk for about 100 minutes, you would lose 500 calories... So about 50 calories every 10 minutes.

Would anyone else concur with this estimate?
  • MzChristyLove
    MzChristyLove Posts: 18 Member
    Options