RUNNERS: come here!

Options

Replies

• TidoWyla
    TidoWyla Posts: 72 Member
    Options
    I started running in January, and currently am training for a 10K. We live on gravel, so I'm generally always slower when I train, I usually average an 10:30-11 mm while training, I've done four 5ks this year and the last two I've been running a 9:30 per mile. The first mile always sucks, after that it's not bad at all. I just started training for the 10K so I'm only running 4 miles at a time right now.
  • knapowell
    knapowell Posts: 230 Member
    Options
    I have been running since May of last year. My pace averages 9-10:00 minutes per mile depending on so many things (weather, long or short run, etc.). Like many others, I have the hardest time starting out, but sometimes for me that feeling lasts into miles 2 and 3. Once I am able to pass that point, I can go as long as my knee lets me. I had a knee injury last October, which kept me from running for several months. I kept trying to push it and come back too soon - I don't advise that. 3 miles is my short run, and I try to run at least 4 times per week.
  • tigerbluefly
    tigerbluefly Posts: 257 Member
    Options
    I started running when I turned 40, 2 years ago. I never was a runner before. Did some sprinting in grade school if you count that. I thought since I was 40 it was time to do something just for me. I had gone through a divorce and needed to find myself again and do something just for me, for once, instead of always being the wife and mother and not caring about my time.

I started running in March of 2010 and ran a half marathon that same year in September. I didn't run it very fast, but I completed it and was so happy! I was hooked after that.

I ran a 30K the following March (2011), and then several more half marathons, a 10 miler, a 26K trail run, all leading up to my full marathon last October.