Found guilty, teen to serve year in fatal texting crash

Options

Replies

• 10acity
    10acity Posts: 798 Member
    Options
    Yes, texting while driving is extremely dangerous and inexcusable, but I do not think he meant or intended to harm somebody by doing so. Manslaughter? Yes. Homicide? Absolutely not.

I'd agree with this, but I'm not sure that is actually the legal distinction between "homicide" and "manslaughter". I'm no lawyer, but I believe all killings-- accidental or intentional-- are homicides and the difference determined by intent is between "murder" and "manslaughter". Again, I'm not in law and could be wrong but this has always been my understanding.

I'm not particularly upset by the year in prison-- he should certainly be punished and some time to sit around and think about what a careless, idiot move he made seems completely appropriate to me.
  • TheWinman
    TheWinman Posts: 700 Member
    Options
    Its literally boggling my mind reading people here DEFENDING the killer.

I have learned no matter how cut and dry something may seem, how awful something is or whatever, there is always someone defending the person. The people defending this guy either see no problem with texting and riving or they are a defense attorney. IMO
  • fbmandy55
    fbmandy55 Posts: 5,263 Member
    Options
    Just like drinking and driving, it will matter little. What would help is a hands free law for car manufacturers. Even the new Carolla comes with Bluetooth. We have the technology for everything to be voice activated including reading texts and sending them. There is no reason to take your eyes off the road even to turn on the car heater.

Yep, I just bought a car (not a fancy one either, a 2011 Mazda 3) and even it has bluetooth so I don't have to take my eyes off the road if I get a call or something. These safety features are really invaluable.