Replies

• aamb
    aamb Posts: 377 Member
    Options
    i'm in shock that kids are not being taught to write...anything!!! :huh:
  • lorib75
    lorib75 Posts: 490 Member
    Options
    one more way to fall behind the rest of the world in education.
  • goldk
    goldk Posts: 1,651 Member
    Options
    Great topic! My daughter's school is not teaching cursive. I told her that I will be teaching her cursive over the summer :bigsmile:
  • Kelleinna
    Kelleinna Posts: 160
    Options
    I'm 29 years old, and I actually learned cursive before I started kindergarten because my mom got me a cursive writing tablet and I self-taught (and I started kindergarten at age 4). However, I have never, EVER used it outside of a school setting since then aside from signing my own name. Print is generally clearer and easier to read, especially when you spend most of your time with people who had maybe a 4th grade education in a third world country and don't read so well in their native language, much less English (and this is the crowd I usually run with). I am a business professional and have never, NEVER needed to use cursive at work aside from my signature.

I guess what I'm saying is that it doesn't bother me any if they drop it. Of course, my ten year old already knows it.
  • linda1243
    linda1243 Posts: 166
    Options
    I think they still have to learn it until people completely stop using it. what are they supposed to do when they get a letter with cursive hand writing? A lot of thank you notes (business and personal) are still done in cursive. Would you be able to look at it and read it if you didn't know what cursive letters looked like?
  • kstrunk1
    kstrunk1 Posts: 462 Member
    Options