Best abs exercises for losing belly fat?

Options
hey everyone =)

I'm doing quite well with MFP so far, trying to do some form of cardio from just walking, to zumba or yoga, every day

And wondering what I can do to really focus on my abs and tummy region as this is where I seem to be storing most of my fat.

I've tried the 8minute abs video on youtube which seems good but any advice would be really appreciated.

Please bear in mind I'm still a beginner and might not understand any technical terms or names of exercises just yet!

Thanks in advance x

Replies

• BeautyFromPain
    BeautyFromPain Posts: 4,952 Member
    Options
    Sadly, you can not spot reduce.

You will need to lose all the fat from other areas before it comes off your abs.
    Also, we all have abs.. we just can not all see them.
    You have to lower your body fat % enough to see them, that's all there is to it.
  • Hendrix7
    Hendrix7 Posts: 1,903 Member
    Options
    Will all be down to diet, you cannot burn fat in a specific area by working muscles in that area.

The body fat % required to get visible abs is pretty lean, it will take some time but definitely achievable.
  • Shadowsan
    Shadowsan Posts: 365 Member
    Options
    I'm gonna have to break it to ya...

Targeted fat loss doesn't exist.

What people seem to define as inches lost is actually the effect of tightening up your core muscles (at least in the beginning) which benefits everyone - but there's no substitute for just continuing to lose weight in general - whether it comes off your tummy first or not is purely down to your genetics.
  • JesterMFP
    JesterMFP Posts: 3,596 Member
    Options