BIKE HELMETS.....Do YOU wear one??

Options

Replies

• sunraew
    sunraew Posts: 96 Member
    Options
    I have a couple of life stories that proved it to me:

A while back, my friend and I had been training hard for about 6 months to go on a 120km bike race from the city to the northern coast. We were both wearing our helmets on race day. About 30km into it we got caught up trying to move through a tight pack. The rider in front clipped another tyre and crashed. My friend didn't have time or space to avoid him. It was horrible. Her bike flipped as she crashed. She landed hard hitting the back of her helmet. Other (inexperienced?) riders from behind didn't even try to avoid her but rode over her, including her face(!), before I could untangle myself from my own bike and drag her to safety being careful in case of a back/neck injury. She kept telling me she was okay and not to fuss, but didn't know her own name, what day or time it was or why were there. Then she had a seizure. [Freaked right me out as I'd never seen one before]. I went with her in the ambulance, and listened as the ER doctor in the nearby town told her that the damage was severe and that she could not afford to have another brain injury. There is no doubt in my mind that the injury would have been far worse without the helmet, especially newer technology ones (of course, that one needed to be replaced after the impact). Ever since, I've always worn a good quality (never dropped) helmet while cycling, mountain biking, kiting and snowboarding etc. AND I avoid crowded race conditions like the plague.